Skip to main content

Corbyn supporters take all nine seats in elections to NEC

NINE pro-Corbyn candidates made a clean sweep yesterday in an election to Labour’s national executive committee (NEC).

They are, in order of the number of votes received, Yasmine Dar, Claudia Webbe, Jon Lansman, Rachel Garnham, Huda Elmi, Darren Williams, Ann Henderson, Navendu Mishra and Peter Willsman.

The NEC as it stood before the election will continue to sit and could decide today on whether Labour will adopt the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance definition of anti-semitism in full with all illustrative examples, including its conflation of anti-semitism with criticism of Israel.

The new NEC members will take up their positions after the annual party conference later this month.

Of the candidates not supportive of party leader Jeremy Corbyn, comedian Eddie Izzard came closest to being elected from the list of 26 contenders.

His failure means that he will no longer serve on the NEC after he stepped in for Christine Shawcroft when she resigned in March.

He lost by more than 2,500 votes to Mr Willsman, who was dropped from the Momentum list of approved candidates over his suggestion that Jewish “Trump fanatics” were behind accusations of anti-semitism in Labour ranks.

The NEC is Labour’s ruling body and has 33 members representing local parties, unions, MPs, MEPs and young activists.


We're a reader-owned co-operative, which means you can become part of the paper too by buying shares in the People’s Press Printing Society.

Become a supporter

Fighting fund

You've Raised:£ 5,907
We need:£ 12,093
18 Days remaining
Donate today