Skip to main content

Women's Rugby League 2021 Rugby League World Cup to be graced with South American flair

THE 2021 Women’s Rugby League World Cup will have a South American presence for the first time after Brazil were unveiled as one of the eight participating teams.

The other nations are hosts England, holders Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, France, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

Rugby League World Cup 2021 chief executive Jon Dutton said: “We had some fantastic submissions and unfortunately we couldn’t say yes to each nation.

“However we’re confident the chosen nations will play their role in delivering the greatest, and most inclusive, Rugby League World Cup of all time.

“It is especially pleasing to see an inaugural South American nation compete in a Rugby League World Cup.”

The men’s, women’s and wheelchair tournaments will all be played concurrently for the first time in 2021 while a women’s Emerging Nations competition will be a part of the Festival of World Cups.

The draw for the women’s tournament will take place this November and will get under way at Anfield on Saturday, November 13 2021.

The wheelchair tournament will begin the following day at the Copper Box Arena, with England both featuring in opening fixtures.


We're a reader-owned co-operative, which means you can become part of the paper too by buying shares in the People’s Press Printing Society.

Become a supporter

Fighting fund

You've Raised:£ 10,911
We need:£ 7,089
7 Days remaining
Donate today