Skip to main content

An open letter to Tower Hamlets Council, from Labour councillors

WE ARE in the midst of one of the gravest health crises we have ever faced. 

Along with other workers from all sections of society, council workers have been at the very forefront of our response to Covid-19, fighting against the disease with utmost dedication and commitment. 

As Labour councillors from around London, we believe Labour councils can be exemplars of how to respond effectively to the crisis and that workers deserve our total solidarity. 

We are therefore deeply concerned that a Labour administration in Tower Hamlets is using Section 188 of the Conservatives’ Trade Union & Labour Relations Act — whereby workers are sacked and rehired on different contracts — to implement its Tower Rewards scheme, driving down the terms and conditions of its workers. 

Unison members have responded by courageously defending themselves and they will soon be taking part in three further days of strike action.

The actions of Tower Hamlets Council risk damaging a party that seeks to represent ordinary working people. 

We join our Tower Hamlets councillor colleagues and Apsana Begum MP, Richard Burgon MP, Diane Abbott MP, Paula Barker MP, Nadia Whittome MP and John McDonnell MP in questioning the Tower Rewards scheme and support Unison’s request for an independent equality assessment. 

We call on the Mayor of Tower Hamlets, John Biggs, to reengage and negotiate with Unison.  

Signed by Councillors ...
Daniel Stone, Haringey 
Abdirazak Abdi, Brent 
Lynne Allen, Hillingdon 
Tolga Aramaz, Enfield 
Santiago Bell-Bradford, Islington 
Mark Blake, Haringey 
Lindsay Bliss, Hillingdon 
Anne Brown, Enfield 
Gideon Bull, Haringey 
Theresa Byrne, Ealing 
Maggie Carman, Westminster 
Leo Cassarani, Camden 
Jumbo Chan, Brent
James Chiriyankandath, Haringey
Chris Clark, Croydon 
Lewis Cox, Ealing 
Eldridge Culverwell, Haringey 
Sasha Das Gupta, Newham 
Mahir Demir, Haringey 
Emma Dent Coad, Kensington & Chelsea 
John Fahy, Greenwich 
Pamela Fitzpatrick, Harrow 
Janet Gardner, Hillingdon 
Rosa Gomez, Redbridge 
Phil Graham, Islington 
Margaret Greer, Enfield 
Michelle Gregory, Hackney 
Makbule Gunes, Haringey 
Mike Hakata, Haringey 
Alan Hall, Lewisham 
Kirsten Hearn, Haringey 
Claudia Hector, Brent 
Emine Ibrahim, Haringey 
Anamul Islam, Newham 
Sarah James, Haringey 
Clare Joseph, Hackney 
Sue Lukes, Islington 
Stuart Mathers, Hillingdon 
James McAsh, Southwark 
Maurice McLeod, Wandsworth 
Paul Merry, Redbridge 
Puru Miah, Tower Hamlets 
Khaled Moyeed, Haringey 
Matt Nathan, Islington 
John Oswell, Hillingdon 
Gary Parker, Greenwich 
Simon Pearson, Camden 
Dave Putson, Bexley 
Ranjit Singh, Camden 
Luke Sorba, Lewisham 
David Stanley, Greenwich
Noah Tucker, Haringey 
Lee Waker, Barking & Dagenham 
Paula Walker, Wandsworth 
Matt White, Haringey
Cllr Carole Beth, Havering
Cllr Daniel Kennelly, Brent


We're a reader-owned co-operative, which means you can become part of the paper too by buying shares in the People’s Press Printing Society.

Become a supporter

Fighting fund

You've Raised:£ 10,322
We need:£ 7,678
8 Days remaining
Donate today