Skip to main content

Women’s Cricket England automatically qualify for 2022 Birmingham Games

HOSTS England have been granted automatic qualification for the women’s cricket competition at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

The six other highest-ranked T20 countries as of April 1 2021 will also qualify directly for the eight-team tournament, with the remaining place being allocated to the winner of a qualifier.

Women’s cricket is set to make a historic first appearance at the Games, which are scheduled to take place between July 28 and August 8, 2022.

International Cricket Council chief executive Manu Sawhney said: “Cricket at the Commonwealth Games is a fantastic opportunity for us to continue to grow the women’s game globally.

“We are committed to accelerating this growth and maintaining the momentum we have created over the past few years.”

With athletes from the Caribbean due to represent their individual countries, the winner of a designated qualifying tournament will decide which country will compete should the West Indies receive a slot.

England captain Heather Knight said: “It’s incredibly exciting that we’re going to be taking part in the Commonwealth Games on home soil. It’s an event I’ve often watched and I never really imagined I’d be taking part so it feels really special.”


We're a reader-owned co-operative, which means you can become part of the paper too by buying shares in the People’s Press Printing Society.

Become a supporter

Fighting fund

You've Raised:£ 11,254
We need:£ 6,746
8 Days remaining
Donate today