Skip to main content

Prominent Corbyn allies moved off Labour front bench in Starmer's shadow cabinet reshuffle

NEW Labour leader Sir Keir Starmer dropped prominent allies of Jeremy Corbyn from the shadow cabinet as he continued his reshuffle today.

Richard Burgon, Dawn Butler, Dan Carden, Peter Dowd, Margaret Greenwood, Baroness Shami Chakrabarti, Ian Lavery and Jon Trickett have all departed the Labour front bench.

Former shadow business secretary and leadership contender Rebecca Long Bailey remains in the shadow cabinet as shadow education secretary.

Ms Long Bailey said: “In this time of crisis I will do my utmost to ensure that our teaching staff, students and their families receive the support they deserve.

“Social mobility is meaningless if we don’t all rise together.”

Former shadow transport secretary Andy McDonald has been appointed shadow secretary for employment rights. His old position has been filled by Oldham West MP Jim McMahon.

Mr Starmer has brought former Labour leader Ed Miliband back to the front bench as shadow business secretary and appointed Tottenham MP David Lammy as Mr Burgon’s replacement as shadow justice secretary.

Former shadow foreign secretary Emily Thornberry has replaced Barry Gardiner as shadow international trade secretary and former shadow minister for disabled people Marsha de Cordova has replaced Ms Butler as shadow secretary for women & equalities.

Wigan MP Lisa Nandy, who also contested the leadership, has succeeded Ms Thornberry as shadow foreign secretary.

Ian Murray, who ran for the deputy leader role, returns as shadow Scotland secretary after resigning from the role under Mr Corbyn in criticism of his leadership.

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan, who stood unsuccessfully to be deputy, has been appointed shadow minister for mental health.

Former shadow housing secretary John Healey has become shadow defence secretary, with his old position being filled by Bristol West MP Thangam Debbonaire.

Jonathan Ashworth remains as shadow health & social care secretary and Cat Smith stays on as shadow minister for youth & voter engagement.

On Sunday, Mr Starmer appointed Anneliese Dodds to succeed John McDonnell as shadow chancellor and Nick Thomas-Symonds to succeed Diane Abbott as shadow home secretary.

Mr Starmer said: “I’m proud to have appointed a shadow cabinet that showcases the breadth, depth and talents of the Labour Party.

“This is a new team that will be relentlessly focused on acting in the national interest to respond to the coronavirus pandemic and rebuilding Labour so that it can win the next election.”

The shadow cabinet consists of 17 women and 15 men; seven come from black and minority-ethnic backgrounds.


We're a reader-owned co-operative, which means you can become part of the paper too by buying shares in the People’s Press Printing Society.



Become a supporter

Fighting fund

You've Raised:£ 10,353
We need:£ 7,647
11 Days remaining
Donate today